Wairarapa’s own Melissa Hansen has just completed a weeks worth of being front and centre for newly crowned National U/21 Women’s Champions Central Districts. At the tournament held at Auckland’s Lloyd Elsmore Park, Central Districts dominated the majority of their opposition to take out the national title for the first time since 2004/05. The tournament was played over both 50 over and T20 formats on a round-robin basis.

As one of the more established and experienced players, Hansen played a central role in the teams success, resulting in her being named as part of the Tournament team (essentially a shadow / paper New Zealand U/21 side). Hansen had a fantastic tournament with both bat, opening the innings against the best U/21 bowlers around, and ball, as an opening or first change medium pacer.

Hansen had knocks of 75 versus Otago, 38 versus Auckland, 32 not out vs Canterbury and 30 versus Northern Districts. She backed this up with bowling figures of 2 for 22 off 7 against Auckland, 1 for 8 off 6 versus Canterbury in their 50 over match, 2 for 39 versus Northern Districts and in the final match (which CD needed to win to be crowned National Champions) 2 for 4 off 2 overs again versus Canterbury.

To cap things off for the week, all awards were presented by another Wairarapa product, current White Fern, Elizabeth Perry.

3 Central Districts players were named in the tournament team and they were Melissa Hansen (Wairarapa), Hannah Rowe (Manawatu) and Mel MeGaw (Taranaki).

Tournament team:
Kate Anderson ND
Bella Armstrong Auckland
Rebecca Burns wellington
Lauren Down Auckland
Katie Gurrey ND
Melissa Hansen CD
Polly Inglis Otago
Gemma Kerbs Wellington
Mel MeGaw CD
Kirsty Nation Canterbury
Hannah Rowe CD

Melissa Hansen with the U/21 Women's National Champions ,and Tournament Team Trophies

Melissa Hansen with the U/21 Women’s National Championship and Tournament Team Trophies

Melissa Hansen, middle row left, and the National Champion Central Districts U/21 Womens Team

Melissa Hansen, middle row left, and the National Champion Central Districts U/21 Womens Team