The Rathkeale Old Boys managed to defeat the 2012 Rathkeale 1st XI in their annual match played at Rathkeale Oval.

It is tradition for the youngsters to bat first so there is normally no formal toss. It is also traditional for the Old Boys to start the match with nine players (or less) – this time the tradition was broken with only Lindsay Watts making to the wicket a little late. Age before stardom is a right that is hard earned and despite not taking a wicket, Lindsay showed that his legendary skills of 40 odd years ago had not been lost.

Rathkeale defended their total stoutly but the old heads came through in the end after surviving a few anxious moments.

Features of the match included a promising effort with the bat by young 3rd former, Liam Burling who made 31 not out. Captain Harry Clinton Baker supplied another good knock and Matthew McKenzie held the innings together with the top score. According to those present the highlight of the day was Henry Cameron’s innings. Following on from his marvellous 91 against Taranaki, he was dismissed for zero. He did, however, pick up a couple of wickets.

Rathkeale 187 Matthew McKenzie 38, Harry Clinton Baker 33, George Deans 24, Liam Burling 31 not out. Tristan Armitage 2 – 12, Henry Cameron 2 – 25

Rathkeale Old Boys 188 – 8 Richard Tosswill 39, Tim Lucas 36, Duncan Didsbury 27, Paul Lyttle 25

Josh Blatchford 3 – 41, Elliot Mason 2 – 34

A win to the Old Boys by 2 wickets.