Thanks to Gary Caffell. Click here to go to the Wairarapa Times Age 

Red Star all-rounder Jarred Watt has made a habit of producing outstanding individual performances on the Wairarapa interclub cricket scene in recent seasons, and he was at it again over the weekend.

Watt was the main catalyst to Red Star dominating their Bidwell Cup fixture against Greytown at Queen Elizabeth Park Oval in Masterton, taking starring roles with both ball and bat in their outright victory by an innings and 72 runs.

A medium-pacer capable of extracting useful bounce out of the most placid of wickets, Watt finished the game with 12 wickets to show for his bowling efforts.

Maintaining a consistent line and length, he claimed 6-43 when Greytown declared their first innings closed at 101-9 and followed with 6-15 in Greytown’s second innings which produced just 53 runs.

And in between times Watt also gave a hint of his prowess with the bat, making 33 off 21 balls, including one 4 and two 6s, in a Red Star first innings which was closed at 226-6.

Only his skipper Joe Hull, whose 72 came off 82 balls and included nine 4s and one 6, provided more runs to the impressive Red Star reply, while Nik Karaitiana made 25.

There were very few positives for Greytown in what was a below-par performance by the southerners. The pick of their batsmen in their first innings were Tim Lucas, who made a patient 33 from 137 deliveries, and Daniel Ingham, whose 17 came off 44 balls.

The 17 made by Lucas was the team’s top score in a second innings in which the only other batsmen to make double figures were opener Daniel Haxton (13) and Gordon Reisima (11). None of the batsmen from four to 11 in the order made more than three runs, thanks to the sustained accuracy of Watt and spinner Aaron Wilson, who chimed in with 3-4 from four overs.

On the bowling front Ben Foster with 3-64 and Ben Hodder 3-32 had useful returns for Greytown but their bowlers also gave away 44 extras, 23 of them from wides.

Red Star came out of the game with 25 points while Greytown secured three.

The batting of Wairarapa Cricket Association president Justin Herbert was clearly the main contributing factor to Wairarapa College’s 143-run outright victory over Newbolds Marist Old Boys.

Herbert top scored with 71 when Wairarapa College batted first and were all out for 164 and after Marist Old Boys had replied with 135, he was unbeaten on 103 when Wairarapa College closed their second innings at 211-2.

That left Marist Old Boys needing 241 for what would have been their first competition win of the season but they came up well short, being dismissed for 97.

Another Wairarapa College player, Jack Wakeling, also had a memorable match. He took 5-49 in Marist Old Boys’s first innings and scored 60 in the second innings.

Spearheading the Wairarapa College attack in Marist Old Boy’s second innings was Tim Griffith, who took 5-28, while it was Robbie Speers who impressed most for Marist Old Boys with the ball, taking 5-54 in Wairarapa College’s first innings.

Wairarapa College came out of the game with 22 points and Marist Old Boys with six.

The first day’s play in the Flight Centre Lansdowne v A1 Homes Kuranui Old Boys match was abandoned because of the damp pitch but they had a one-innings match on Sunday, Lansdowne winning by seven wickets.

Kuranui Old Boys were all out for 82 of which Sergie Montgomerie made 35 not out. Bowling for Lansdowne Leighton Calkin took 4-19 and Ford Burr 4-22. Lansdowne reached their target for the loss of three wickets to earn 15 competition points to Kuranui Old Boys’ one.

Meanwhile, just one of the scheduled three matches in The Rock Twenty20 competition were played last Thursday evening with Wairarapa College 75 losing to Rathkeale College 76-3.

Some impressive bowling figures were returned, T Crombie 4-11 and K Fahey 4-8 for Rathkeale and J Wakeling 2-14 for Wairarapa College.

Abandoned because of the inclement weather were the Kuranui Old Boys v Red Star and Marist Old Boys v Lansdowne games.

Competition points: Greytown 8, Rathkeale 8, Lansdowne 6, Red Star 6, Kuranui Old Boys 6, Marist Old Boys 2 and Wairarapa College 0.